Home Sweet Houston

We have finally repatriated back to our humble abode. The last five months have been a whirlwind of excitement and self-awakening. I’m sorry to be closing this chapter of our lives, but I know there will be a longer saga of many expat assignments and adventures to come.

I hate regret. It’s a crippling train of thought that only leads you down a spiral of negativity.  But I can’t help but think about those few nights in Calgary where I didn’t take advantage of the city. As I sit nice and snug in my suburban haven on the outskirts of Houston, I wonder what kind of adventures I missed out on that I won’t get the chance to encounter again. Why didn’t we go ice skating or snow-boarding? Shouldn’t we have visited the Rockies one more time? 

I’ve spoken about how moving to a new city can provide a completely liberating experience. I’m hoping I can sustain this new-found sense of self throughout the coming new year.

Although we shouldn’t be leaving on any expat assignments until early 2014 (although the Company loves to surprise us!) I have an exciting year planned of my own. It’s my hope that I can take at least one trip a month. Stay tuned for posts from Montreal, San Antonio, the Carribean, Florida, Washington D.C., and a few over-seas surprises. In the mean time, I’m going to continue trying to find a French class which has proven to be a more challenging task than expected in Texas country. Go figure. I’ll also be getting used to living with my husband full-time again!

I leave you with my final images of my beloved Calgary, from our downtown views and a recent trip to the Calgary Zoo Lights. I’m going to miss my winter wonder land.

 

Calgary Zoo Lights 2012

 

Calgary Zoo Lights 2012 Giraffe

 

Calgary Zoo Lights 2012 Hippo

 

Calgary Apartment View

 

West Calgary View

About petroleumwife

Adventures and life of a petroleum wife. View all posts by petroleumwife

15 responses to “Home Sweet Houston

  • Still Times

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Happy New Year’s, may this be an exciting and adventurous new year filled with lots of laughter, adventures and discoveries. Looking forward to seeing photo’s from the Carribean and Washing D.C., two places in my bucket list that I’ve not been to.

    Cheers!

    Maria

    • petroleumwife

      Happy New Year’s Maria! Thanks so much for your sweet comment. I hope my travel adventures pan out the way I planned for the coming year. I should really get around to writing a bucket list myself. I highly recommend D.C. One of my favorite cities in the world! Good luck to you and your family on continued expat adventures throughout 2013!

  • Rob Moses

    Lucky you to have gone back home! haha. I have been in Calgary one year now and miss my home of Vancouver terribly. Calgary is nice, but it’s just so dang cold! I’ll keep an eye on your blog for your future trips. Montreal is amazing by the way 🙂

    • petroleumwife

      Hi Rob! You’re right about the weather. Even though I had a great time in Calgary, I’m lucky I left before the real winter began!

      I totally love Vancouver! My husband and I took a road trip through the Rockies to visit your hometown recently and I can definitely understand why you miss it.

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m happy you’ll be reading along.

  • Laura

    There are definitely more adventures to be had! Enjoy your time in Texas, 2014 will come fast enough. Also, I recommend Rosetta Stone. Look forward to hearing more from you in 2013! Happy new year!

    • petroleumwife

      Thanks Laura! I’ve heard really good things about Rosetta Stone and have actually seen a few Groupon deals for it. I think I might have to go that route if I can’t find a class. Happy new Year!

  • Things You Realize After You Get Married

    Beautiful pics! Isn’t it funny how after we leave a place we often wish we had done more in that place (i.e. visited more sites, gone to more events etc). Even when we visited the Rockies, out itinerary was jam-packed, yet I still came away feeling that maybe we could have done more (not sure how unless we didn’t sleep but still)! But at the same time I figure that there will be more opportunities to visit again since we live in Canada anyways… maybe one day when we have kids, so all is not lost. Happy New Year! 🙂

    • petroleumwife

      Thanks so much for your comment! I agree, as soon as you leave you start to second-guess yourself. But really, can one ever really get enough of the Rockies?

      Sometimes I think about that point of children too. We’re going to want to show them these beautiful places around the world too someday!

  • meagan8477

    How do you like Houston? Even though I’m from Texas, I’ve never been! But we are hoping to make that our home in a few years.

    Loving your blog. I am going to be traveling once a month this year too. I think 2013 might be a year of perpetual jet lag for me, but I’m looking forward to the adventures and reading about yours.

    • petroleumwife

      Hi Meagan! I actually really like Houston. The population is so diverse and everyone is super friendly. On the other hand, it’s HUGE. Definitely a lot of time spent in my car! Not sure exactly how long we’ll be here, but for now we’re totally taking advantage. I look forward to reading about your adventures too! Best of luck with the jet lag 🙂 Hopefully just a small price to pay for awesome experiences!

Leave a Reply

